AFL Awards

Each year, the Alberta Federation of Labour recognized two activists for their outstanding contributions to the labour movement. We encourage you to look at those who are doing the work and walking the walk and nominate them for one of the following awards.

The May Day Solidarity Award

The annual May Day Solidarity Award was created in 1989 and is given to an Alberta trade unionist for his/her contributions in advancing workers’ rights within and outside the labour movement.

The International Women's Day Award

The annual International Women's Day Award was introduced in 1990 to recognize a sister in the labour movement for her outstanding commitment and leadership in the trade union movement and community.

2021 Call for Nominations

2021 AFL May Day Solidarity Award - Call for Nominations

2021 AFL International Women's Day Award - Call for Nominations

Deadline for Nominations is March 14, 2021


2020 AFL Award Recipients